The Andrew Christie spirit

Round Four’s clash against West Perth will be more than just a WAFL fixture; with Subiaco honouring the ANZACS with the Andrew Christie cup.

The very reason we can play the game we love is because of the sacrifice that thousands of Australian’s made in the First World War and the Subiaco Football Club honour this sacrifice with the Andrew Christie cup every year. 

Christie was a Subiaco player between 1909 and 1913 and was involved in three Lions premierships. But when Australia rang the bells of war for nearing global conflict in 1914; Christie selflessly put his hand up to defend his country.

The young defender was involved in the 16th Battalions attack on Turkish strong points on Sunday 2nd of May in 1915 which has since been labeled as Bloody Sunday. More Anzacs were killed on this single night than the Charge at the Nek.

Private Andrew Christie was struck in the leg and offered his last message through a fellow digger. “Please fetch me. I’m slowly bleeding to death.”

Sadly; Private Andrew Christie was never recovered and his name along with 3500 un-found ANZACS are engraved in stone at the Lone Pine Memorial.

The Andrew Christie Anzac Cup is presented to a footballer from the Subiaco Football Club on the home ground fixture closest to Anzac Day year.  It is awarded to the player who best exemplifies the legendary qualities of the first ANZACs.

Those qualities include courage, perseverance, fairness, leading by example, selflessness, humour and dedication to the team.

The Christie family is honoured and grateful to play a part in developing Subiaco Football Club tradition.  The introduction of the prestigious award was the idea of Andrew’s great nephew Len Christie, a long time supporter of the Subiaco Football Club.

It has been Len’s pleasure to represent the Christie family to present this trophy over the past 13 years.

Past winners of the Andrew Christie Cup include:

1998                Dean Irving

1999                Dean Irving

2000                Andrew Donnelly

2001                Peter Bird

2002                Luke Toia

2003                Marc Webb

2004                Caine Hayes

2005                David Robbins

2006                Ben Keevers

2007                Mark Haynes

2008                Brad Smith

2009                Shaun Hildebrandt

2010                Chad Cossom

2011                Chris Phelan

2012                Kane Bloxsidge

2013                 Chris Deluca

2014                 Jason Bristow


For more updates follow the Lions on twitter @subiacolions

buy viagra online

buy viagra australia

sildenafil australia

viagra in australia

nolvadex pct

buy nolvadex online

tamoxifen australia

generic nolvadex

buy orlistat australia

buy xenical australia

orlistat xenical australia

buy xenical online

comprare viagra online

acheter cialis france

buy kamagra uk