Swans Outclass Subiaco


Article By: Andrew Owen

Photo By: Michael Flood

Swan Districts have defeated Subiaco by 47-points on a cold winter’s day at Medibank Stadium.

The Lions, who were celebrating the reunion of their 1973 premiership team, had no answer as Swans ran rampant throughout all areas on the ground.

Tim Geappen kicked six goals and Ryan Davis, Dayle Garlett, Tony Notte and Murray Newman combined for 10 goals to contribute to the 20.10 (130) to 12.11 (83) victory.

Subiaco got a brilliant start when former Swan Districts player Raymond Daniels kicked the first goal of the game which gave the Lions the early lead.  From there though, Swans kicked four of the next five goals to take a 15-point lead at the first break.  Both teams were making errors which resulted in turnovers; however the errors that Subiaco were making in their backline were proving costly.

The Lions continued to make mistakes in their back line and this resulted in Garlett and Davis kicking the first two goals of the second quarter for Swan Districts.  Subiaco then hit a purple patch and had five shots on goal.  However they could only manage two goals.  Swans then snatched the momentum back and went on to kick six of the next seven goals to take a lead of 44-points at half time.

Swan Districts continued in the third quarter where they left off, kicking the first three goals.  A Swans player then failed to give the ball back properly to Mark Nicoski and a 50 metre penalty was awarded.  Nicoski just managed to kick the goal to give the Lions some respite.  Swan Districts then kicked three of the next five goals to extend the lead to 72-points at the last break.

Rhett Kerr gave the Subiaco supporters something to cheer about when he kicked the first goal of the last quarter.  Garlett and Geappen then combined to kick their third and sixth goals of the afternoon to put the game beyond doubt.

The Lions to their credit kept on fighting and went forward and found Wood who kicked his second goal of the game.  From the restart Subiaco again sent the ball inside their forward line where Nicoski crumbed the football and kicked another goal for the Lions.  This was then followed by goals to Worthington and Nicoski before Ryan Herring kicked a goal after the siren to add some respectability to the scoreboard.




















SUBIACO:Nicoski 3; Kerr, Wood 2; Waters, Daye, Daniels, Worthington, Herring

SWAN DISTRICTS:Geappen 6; Davis, Garlett 3; Notte, Newman 2; Robinson, Boekhorst, Ugle, Neale

First Quarter

Raymond Daniels couldn’t have asked for a better start against his former club as he kicked the first goal of the game, giving the Lions an early lead.  The game was being played at a frantic pace which caused numerous turnovers from both teams.  Subiaco were making more errors though than Swan Districts especially in their backline.

It was these turnovers that saw Blake Boekhorst run 80 metres and kick Swans first goal.  The Lions were having problems in their backline and when they kicked out after a behind, the ball was again turned over and Kirk Ugle snapped a brilliant goal for Swan Districts.

From the restart Subiaco went forward and got an immediate reply with a goal from Abe Davey.  Swans kicked the final two goals of the quarter through Brett Robinson and Ryan Davis to give them a lead of 15-points at the first break.

Second Quarter

Tim Geappen had an early snap in the second quarter from the square but he hit the post.  The Lions problems in defence though were continuing and when the kick out was turned over Dayle Garlett kicked another goal for Swan Districts.  Davis showed tremendous commitment to the football when inside Swans forward 50 when he ran in at pace and picked up the ball one handed.  Scott Worthington tried hard but could not avoid tripping Davis and the free kick was given which resulted in a goal.

Subiaco then started to fight back and the pressure was being put on the Swan Districts players.  Rhett Kerr kicked a goal for the Lions and then Michael Wood continued his good form when he got his first of the afternoon and closed the margin to 15-points.


Goals then to Geappen, Tony Notte, Murray Newman and Lachie Neale pushed the Swans lead to 38-points.  Subiaco got a goal back courtesy of a 50 metre penalty which Rhys Waters converted from the goal square but they could do nothing to stop Newman and Geappen getting goals late to give Swan Districts a 44-point lead at half time.

Jason Bristow was playing a lone hand for the Lions with 16 disposals while George Hampson had 14 and Waters and Brett Mahoney each had 10.  Geappen was everywhere in the first half for Swans and had 19 possessions and 8 marks to go with his two goals.  Matt Riggio had touched the ball 18 times and he was aided by Shaun Hildebrandt (14), Neale (13), Notte (13) and Adam Faulkner (12).

In Wes Lammie’s absence from the Swan Districts team, Subiaco were winning the hit out count 40-14 with young ruckman David Madut accounting for 24 of those hitouts.

Third Quarter

Jarrad Schofield decided to make some changes at the start of the third quarter and one of those was pushing midfielder Bristow forward.  This had limited effect though as both Davis and Geappen went forward for Swans and each kicked their third goals.  When Notte kicked his second goal the margin was out to 62-points.

The Lions found some relief though when a Swan Districts player failed to give the ball back to Mark Nicoski and a 50 metre penalty was awarded.  Nicoski managed to just keep the ball on the right hand side of the left goal post and this goal put a stop to five consecutive goals for Swans.  Geappen then kicked his fourth and fifth goals of the match and Garlett kicked his second to give Swan Districts a 72-point lead at three quarter time.

Fourth Quarter

Rhett Kerr kicked the first goal of the last quarter for Subiaco to try and restore some respectability to the scoreboard but this was cancelled out when Garlett kicked his third and Geappen kicked his sixth goal of the game.

The Lions can take some satisfaction though in the fact that they kicked the last five goals of the match.

Geappen had 31 disposals and 14 marks to go with his six goals and was assisted by Wayde Twomey (31), Kyle Hams (29), Matt Riggio (28) and Shaun Hildebrandt (28).

For Subiaco George Hampson had 34 while Jason Bristow had 25, Brett Mahoney had 22 and Rhett Kerr had 20.

Usual Suspects

Subiaco just did not have enough contributors today and as usual it was left to the likes of Hampson (34 possessions) and Bristow (25) who like they have for most of the season battled all day to try and help their team get over the line.

buy viagra online

buy viagra australia

sildenafil australia

viagra in australia

nolvadex pct

buy nolvadex online

tamoxifen australia

generic nolvadex

buy orlistat australia

buy xenical australia

orlistat xenical australia

buy xenical online

comprare viagra online

acheter cialis france

buy kamagra uk